That History Day Guy

June 16, 2008

Morning in Maryland…

Filed under: Uncategorized — historydayguy @ 12:52 pm

Do you know at 5:00 in the morning on the Campus of the University of Marland, in College Park you can pet and feed two beautiful horses? Do you know that you can rise to the sounds of songbirds both singing and chirping? Did you know that rabbits run freely across the manicured lawn, and something akin to a babbling brook ( a fountain) runs across a picturesque meadow (quad) ?

Yeah, just like Central New York!

In a mere matter of hours we will be cranking into day one of NHD. It has already been exciting. Tobi and I and TI and TII  met the NYS delegation and our kids picked up their goodie bags, extra buttons and dispersed to collect all they can. It would seem the covated buttons this year is Guam. New Participants this year. The Idaho Potato is my personal favorite, and I did see one of our delegation with a Spud Bar-which may or may not have been chocolate and potatos.

We went through the rousing above speeches and Hoopla and retired to the swank dorms. They are very green. No troublesome AC or warm lighting here. And apparently  UM is saving the planet with one tiny uncomfortable bed at a time. But I can’t complain. I never got to live at my college. Seems my wife and one year old were not in to either dorm or Frat house living when I went to school. I already decided I am going to bring Posters of John Belushi (Look him up kids) and Phish and plaster my walls just so I can have the experience of Dorm life next year!

The crew and I ate at Plato’s Diner in CP at about 10 pm. This is a classic diner that features all your Greek Favorites and Pancakes. My particular Favorite were the Hobo Fries. Yes the name is not PC, but brown box gravy over melted cheese on top of steak fries may be the last meal I ever order if I am facing the chair.

Speaking of Capita Punishment, there was this huge mural on the wall of the poisoning of Socrates??? So, I am no restaurant expert by any means, but visages of historic poisonings are just not my idea of appropriate restaurant décor.

Anyway, at least it was a little history.

Mom, what are they doing in that painting?

Oh, just poising the father of modern dialectical thinking. Eat your hemlock honey…

Today I think I get to judge. I am darn excited! Good luck everybody!

2 Comments »

  1. Mmmmm. Hobo fries.

    Comment by Elizabeth — June 16, 2008 @ 9:37 pm | Reply

  2. I wake up at 5:00 am in the morning with the VERY LOUD noise of a tanker truck unloading corn syrup into a 7-up bottling factory which is directly across from my temporary domicile.

    Comment by smooth1operator — June 18, 2008 @ 9:30 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

