That History Day Guy

September 24, 2007

Good Teachers

Filed under: state contest — historydayguy @ 11:57 pm

I spent a long weekend in a short time in Jamestown NewYork This week. It would have been a total joy were it not for the laser happy state trooper

who thought 81 in a 65 was beyond the law. (Speed Kills Kids!)

I drove from Cooperstown to Jamestown across an almost defunct highway 17 along beautiful rolling hills and former coral reefs that make up the Alagahneies. I watched the trees seem turn before my eyes, briliant reds, washed out greens and Crayola yellows. It is a 6 hour trip and my boss actually looked at me with Pity when he found out I was having to make the trek but I loved it.

I was going to present on New York State History Day at the Jackson Center which is home to the newly formed Western Southern Tier Region.

The teachers were great. No one was coming soley for a check, or slipped out after lunch, or text messaged during the hands on activities. I swear teachers are just like their kids sometime!

These teachers asked questions. Enjoyed discussing history. Told me how this will be good for their kids, and stayed even after I said they were free to go.

John Ames, the new Regional Coordinator could not be a better fit. A retired educator, and long time community volunteer, he brings enthusiaism and energy to a part of the state that is geeting a jump start onNew York History Day. Last Year Teachers from this area helped us with our 30% growth numbers, and sent students to all levels of competetion including nationals. Some teachers represented elementary schools who participated New York State History Day and continue to ask when we will start a Jr. Jr. Division were also there. So being able to go back this year should help solidify the program in the wilds of New York.

Thanks to you Western Southern Tier Educators for making my weekend a good one!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

